Main Menu

Myanmar Joins Chemical Weapons Convention as the 191st state Party to the CWC


MyanmarOn 8 July 2015, Myanmar joined the Chemical Weapons Convention -CWC- and make it the 191st state party to the treaty; the CWC will enter into force for the Myanmar after 30 days. 
North Korea, Egypt, South Sudan, Angola and Israel have not joined the CWC yet, known as 5 states non party to the convention.

The Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) is an arms control treaty which outlaws the production, stockpiling, and use of chemical weapons and their precursors which entered into force in 1997 and is administered by the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), based in The Hague, Netherlands. 

For more info on this news please visit the link below:

Photo: courtesy of OPCW website