Main Menu

The OPCW-The Hague Award announced: First responders training centres and civil society representatives honoured


The OPCW-The Hague Award ceremony was held on Monday, 28 November, 12:15-13:00 CET, on the sidelines of the Twenty-Seventh Session of the Conference of the States Parties to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CSP-27).

“The OPCW’s mission to rid the world of chemical weapons is as relevant now as it was then. The Hague congratulates this year’s winners for their dedication to making our world a safer place. Future generations will be grateful,”  said Mr Jan van Zanen, the Mayor of the Municipality of The Hague.  

The Director-General of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), Ambassador Fernando Arias, and the Mayor of the Municipality of The Hague, Mr Jan van Zanen, present the OPCW-The Hague Award to honour three organisations for outstanding contributions to achieving a world free of chemical weapons:

• Special Risks Brigade of the Federal Police of Argentina;

• Chemical Weapons Convention Coalition, representing more than 150 non-governmental organisations (NGOs) from around the globe; and

• Population Protection Institute, Fire Rescue Service of the Czech Republic.

To watch the 2022 OPCW-The Hague Award Presentation Cermony, Please click heretha-winners-announced 0